President Nana Akufo-Addo has announced a one week extension of the restrictions imposed on the movement of persons within the Greater Accra and Kasoa as well as Kumasi and its environs in the bid to further curtail the spread of the coronavirus (Covid-19) pandemic.

The extension takes effect from Monday, April 13.

He says the lockdown measures imposed to combat the disease have so far yielded moderate successes, however “this fight is not yet over and we are by no means out of the woods yet.”

“It appears that our common efforts have been modestly successful in containing the virus and minimising its spread. Undoubtedly, the decisions taken from day one to act quickly and decisively, and, impose what may have seemed like harsh restrictions, have now proven to be effective, and have saved a lot of lives,” he said.

President Akufo-Addo added that Ghana expects to run additional 10,000 tests in the coming week to decide what further actions to take.

Giving a breakdown of the figures, the President said 37,405 samples have so far been taken, of which 31,933 are in Accra, and 5,472 are in Kumasi.

He said as at Wednesday, April 8, a total of 14,611 contacts of the samples collected had been tested for the virus in Accra and Kumasi.

He added that 11,308 contacts were tested in Accra, and 52 of them were found to be positive, while 3,303 contacts had been tested in Kumasi, and 25 had been found to be positive.

“In total, 77 positive cases were recorded in Accra and Kumasi, representing 0.53 per cent of the 14,611 tested,” President Akufo-Addo said.

“Whilst the results are encouraging, in suggesting a limited number of positives and community spread, we expect to be able to test some 10,000 additional samples in the coming week to give us a clearer picture to enable us take a decision on the way forward.

“So, the decision has been taken, through the issuance of an Executive Instrument, to extend the restrictions on movement in the Greater Accra Metropolitan Area and Kasoa and the Greater Kumasi Metropolitan Area and its contiguous districts by one more week, beginning 1am on Monday, 13th April, subject to review,” he added.

He therefore urged the public to bear with the situation with “continued patience as we stay the course and bear with the difficulties.”

“The final result, hopefully, will be freedom from the virus,” the President said.

The affected communities remain:

Greater AccraGreater Kumasi Metropolitan Area and contiguous districts
1Accra Metropolis Kumasi Metropolis
2Tema MetropolisAsokwa Municipality
3Tema West MunicipalitySuame Municipality
4Ledzokuku MunicipalityOld Tafo Municipality
5Krowor MunicipalityOforikrom Municipality
6Adentan MunicipalityAsokore Mampong Municipality
7Ashiaman MunicipalityKwadaso Municipality
8La-Nkwantanang-Madina MunicipalityAtwima Nwabiagya Municipality
9La-Dade-Kotopon MunicipalityKwabre East Municipality
10Okaikwei North MunicipalityEjisu Municipality
11Ablekuma North MunicipalityAfigya-Kwabre South District
12Ablekuma West MunicipalityBosomtwi District
13Ablekuma Central MunicipalityAtwima Kwanwoma District
14Ayawaso East MunicipalityAtwima Nwabiagya North District
15Ayawaso North Municipality
16Ayawaso West Municipality
17Ayawaso Central Municipality
18Ga West Municipality
19Ga North Municipality
20Ga Central Municipality
21Ga South Municipality
22Ga East Municipality
23Korle-Klottey Municipality
24Weija/Gbawe Municipality
25Kpone Katamanso Municipality
26Awutu Senya East Municipality

More to follow…