The South African Reserve Bank was established in 1921 and is the oldest bank on the African continent. It first opened for business on June 30, 1921, and issued its first banknotes to the public on April 19, 1922. The South African bank is a creature of statute governed by the South African Reserve Bank Act and Section 225 of the Constitution