Sudan’s Transitional Sovereign Council has signed an agreement with key rebel groups in the country to open up areas cut off by conflicts for the past eight years to humanitarian assistance.

Signed in South Sudan with the Sudan Revolutionary Front (SRF) which comprised rebel movements from Darfur, the Nuba Mountains, and the Blue Nile region, the agreement includes a ceasefire in all war zones in the country.

Khartoum also agreed to allow humanitarian aid into conflict zones whose access were cut off from humanitarian groups during the Omar al-Bashir rule.

Sponsored by the president of South Sudan Salva Kiir Mayardit, the truce was signed by Alhadi Idriss, Chairman of the SRF and Mohamed Hamdan Dagolo, the deputy chairman of the Sudan Sovereign Council.

The signing ceremony was also attended by representatives of the United Nations, European Union, and the Intergovernmental Authority for Development.